Be Fierce! 

What I pray for my little daughter –

“Be fierce, be kind,

Be someone that has strength of mind. 

Never be afraid to be yourself,

For, trust me, you are the most unique piece on the shelf. 

People will come and people will go,

But you, my little one, must learn to go with the flow. 

You have one goal in this amazing world, 

Just be you and watch the magic unfurl.”

It’s natural for a mother to think forward. Before I was pregnant, I wondered how it would feel to have a little alien moving around in my belly. When I had my little bump, I wondered what the baby would look like. And now that Z is here, I keep wondering what kind of a person she is going to turn out to be.

There is only so much a parent can do right? Provide them with the right values, teach them right from wrong (but that can be subjective), train them to be respectful of others and offer timely advice. This is what I learnt from my parents. 

But a number of times, we forget that our babies have little personalities of their own too. They aren’t mere reflections of who we are as people, but power packed little people in their own right. And that is something we must not change. Unless they turn out to be serial killers, of course! 

Don’t we owe them the chance to be the best and realest form of themselves that they were meant to be? 

I have seen Z’s personality change a couple of times in the last year. She began as a little lump of cuteness who was scared of loud sounds, strangers and any household appliances (read the pressure cooker!). However, after the 8-month mark, I saw her emerge into this amazing little girl I think she is today. 

Independent (sitting up on her own, trying to crawl without help, picking at little morsels of food), hilarious (she figured out that certain actions made her parents laugh and did them over and over again), protective (she hated Dada giving Mama a hug), intelligent (as she started saying her words very early) and of course very loving (with the hugs and kisses she is known for!). 

Now at 15 months old, she is a strong-willed little girl who knows exactly what she wants. She hates shoes, loves dressing up and has hair with a personality of its own! 

The Hair and its personality!

She doesn’t throw tantrums and seems thoughtful very often. 

Little Ms. Independent

She still has an amazing sense of humour and is very intuitive. She loves her cat, enjoys dancing and making funny faces!

The funny face!

And this is exactly what I want her to be. To be honest, I can’t take credit for any of this. As I mentioned previously, they have predisposed personalities of their own and all we can do as parents is to help them shine through. 

I want her to be fierce. I want her to be loving. I want her to be intelligent. I want her to be caring. And if she is none of the above, she’ll just be a whole different kind of awesome. Which is also great. Afterall, I’m the one who’s blessed. 

Z and Mama 💓

4 thoughts on “Be Fierce! 

Add yours

  1. Beautiful Thoughts n emotions Priyanka .. every parent I guess , wishes d same for their kids .. but go haywire at times … good you can pen this down .. in such beautiful words ..

    Like

  2. I am in love with her and I make sure to always check your Insta stories, etc for updates on Z. She is a darling girl and so so beautiful. Can’t wait to see how she grows up into someone as amazing as her mama! xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

